Log in Register

Log in

About EAS

Founding Members
Current Board
Past Presidents and Honorary Life Members
Past Boards of Directors


EAS has four principal objectives
  • To promote contacts between all involved or interested in marine and freshwater aquaculture;
  • To facilitate the circulation of aquaculture related information;
  • To promote the sponsorship of multi-disciplinary research concerning aquaculture;
  • To enhance cooperation among governmental, scientific and commercial organizations and individuals on all matters dealing with aquaculture.

The EAS General Assembly

The General Assembly has all powers related to the way in which EAS carries out its objectives.
The GA meets every year, normally during the Aquaculture Europe event.
All members (with the exception of promotional members) have equal voting rights, each carrying one vote.

Founding members

The idea for establishing the European Mariculture Society was launched at the occasion of the Tenth European Symposium of Marine Biologists, which took place in Oostende, Belgium, in 1975.

The founding meeting took place on April 29 and 30, 1976 in the office of the Institute for Marine Scientific Research (IZWO) that has supported the society and has provided office space for the EAS secretariat until the late 80's.

The original name "European Mariculture emsboard_april_1976_light.jpgSociety" was changed into "EUROPEAN AQUACULTURE SOCIETY" in 1984 to better reflect the activity field of the society.

EAS Founding members:
Dr. J. Arnal (Spain), Dr. J.V. Bannister (Malta), Dr. M. Bilio (Germany), Dr. S.J. De Groot (The Netherlands), Dr. J. Fluchter (Germany), Dr. ir. E. Jaspers (Belgium), Mr. B. Myrseth (Norway), Dr. F. O'Brien (Ireland), Prof. Dr. G. Persoone (Belgium), Dr. S. Von Boletzky (Switzerland), Dr. T. Vukovic (Yugoslavia)


Current Board

The EAS Board of Directors 2018-2020:

President: Gavin BURNELL (Ireland)
President-Elect: Herve MIGAUD (UK)
Past-president: Bjorn MYRSETH (Norway)
Treasurer: Bente Torstensen (Norway)
Members: Henrice Jansen (Netherlands), Constantinos Mylonas (Greece), Luisa Valente (Portugal), Marc Vandeputte (France)
Student Representative: Kathrin Steinberg (Germany).

 Photo: The 2018-2020 EAS Board at the GA 2018. Missing from photo: Constantinos Mylonas.

EAS BOARD 2018 2020 yh

Photo: The 2016-2018 EAS Board joined by members of the Student Group and Past Presidents for a Strategy Event held in Berlin, March 2017

Retreat Portrait

Past Presidents and Honorary Life Members

EAS Past Presidents

1976-1980 Dr. M. Bilio (Germany)
1980-1982 Prof. Dr. G. Persoone (Belgium)
1982-1984 Dr. H. Rosenthal (Germany)
1984-1986 Dr. A. Jones (UK)
1986-1988 Prof. Dr. H. Ackefors (Sweden)
1988-1990 Dr. J.J. Sabaut (France)
1990-1992 Dr. J. Joyce (Ireland)
1992-1994 Mr. B. Myrseth (Norway)
1994-1996 Dr. M. Poxton (UK)
1996-1998 Dr. P. Lavens (Belgium)
1998-2000 Dr. P. Ferlin (France)
2000-2002 Dr. R. Flos (Spain)
2002-2004 Mr. M. New (UK)
2004-2006 Dr. J. Verreth (The Netherlands)
2006-2008 Dr. L. Varadi (Hungary)
2008-2010 Prof. Dr. S. Stead (UK)
2010-2012 Dr. Y. Harache (France)
2012-2014 Mr. K. Maroni (Norway)
2014-2016 Prof. S. Kaushik (France)
2016-2018 Mr. B. Myrseth (Norway)

EAS Honorary Life Members

Dr. G. Ravagnan (Italy, since 1981)
Dr. E. Monten (Sweden, since 1987 †)
Dr. Chevassus-au-Louis (France, since 1989)
Dr. E. Edwards (UK, since 1991)
Dr. P. Hjul (UK, since 1993 †)
Prof. Dr. T. R. Gjedrem (Norway, since 1995)
Mr. J. Bally (Martinique, since 1997)
Dr. C. Nash (USA, since 2000)
Mr. C. Hough (UK and Belgium, since 2010)
Dr. P. Divanach (Greece, since 2011)
Prof. P. Sorgeloos (Belgium, since 2012)
Mr. M. New (UK, since 2014)
Prof. S. Kaushik (France, since 2017)

EAS Award for distinguished services

Prof. Dr. G. Persoone (Belgium)
Prof. Dr. N. De Pauw (Belgium)
Dr. Y. Harache (France)
Prof. Dr. S. Stead (UK)


Past Boards of Directors

Full details of Board members, Officers and National Representatives since the founding of EAS